CEBU – ila puti

[A note to anyone that actually reads this thing. This particular piece on ila puti was overlooked and I ate there and wrote this a few months ago, and it was still dry season.]

Drum Roll  – 72 years old and counting and traveling and experiencing. NOT DEAD YET.

In order to give my derriere a break I decided to stop in CEBU for a few days en route to my next assignment. I normally use agoda.com to book rooms in Southeast Asia and as it was short notice. I ended up at the Cebu Grand Hotel. Nice hotel and I rated it on agoda. The upshot is that it is located next to AXIS/Vibro Place.

Wandering around looking for a late dinner I passed a packed Starbucks and an oversized and very busy Burger King. I began to wonder if I had time/space traveled to my old home. Then I came to ila puti. A small restaurant with a young couple playing guitars and singing inside (they were great).  I was snagged by a waiter that said they had what I was looking for. They did! This gem of a small restaurant with great service was enough to kick me back into blogging.

Any gourmand from New York or San Francisco would be in heaven here. The restaurant is named after the chef who is nothing less that a creative genius. The portions are just right, the ingredients fresh and incredibly well matched.

With Japanese, Korean, Fusion and Lechon to pick from, all three of my nights in Cebu were spent at ila puti . You will Love it. The Philippines are not known for their cuisine as are Thailand and Japan.The Philippines are about practical food such as Adobo and lots of fish and rice. Restaurants like ila puti might start a National trend. GOOGLE them, pictures of some dishes and menus on line (this is their second location).

To give the Philippines its due, there are mega malls in the big cities and most host a very wide selection of restaurants that represent most popular epicurean delights such as Japanese, Thai, Indian, Italian, Mediterranean, and most popular American fast foods. A mall I ate Japanese from tonight I walked around and counted 52 restaurants and probably missed some.

 

About asiadiver

Love to travel, love southeast Asia and the people and cultures (and food) SCUBA is a passion but more difficult as I get older so photography and writing have become most important. I have learned more talking with other travelers in local bars in Hong Kong or Bangkok or sharing a tuk tuk than I did in all my years in university. Not a man of the world but an average Joe just being observant, polite and listening.
This entry was posted in Blogging, drinks, food, Life, Old Age, Philippines, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

