Blogging

For whom do you blog?  I was sitting in Shakey’s Pizza in Makati Philippines and a lady came in wearing a T-shirt with a sequined message covering the entire front. It said  “NOBODY GIVES A S*** ABOUT YOUR F****** BLOG”. I assume someone wounded her or she just got tired of a blogger or bloggers in general. Maybe it was karma directed at me by my guardian angel. It started me thinking. Why do I blog?

During the 2008 election season I wrote 80 some blogs (on another site) about one of the candidates. I had some followers and mostly favorable comments and I did it because I cared. When I started this one I had hopes of keeping up a fairly constant travel blog. It mostly fizzled. Now I do it for me. I am expressing myself in writing and have a few followers but mainly I am doing it for me. It is a way to capture some of my thoughts. It is also a way to let a few friends know what I am up to. There are some really interesting blogs out there, and there are some boring ones (mine) but some of the mundane at first glance give a micro view of life  today.

A few years ago I read a blog from a young Persian lady (she emphasized “Persian”)  when she described her life as being in a fishbowl – things were going on around her that she had no control over that effected her life greatly. The political fallout was effecting her but she was not even represented and there was nothing she could do about it. Last year I read a blog from a college freshman that gave me a view of college I could not begin to relate to. My college experience was as a 25 year old, back from the war. I wanted nothing to do with campus life and carried a full load and sporadic part time time jobs. That blog led me to others and they have helped me understand what is going on today on a sort of one on one basis.

So why the blog – just because…

 

About asiadiver

Love to travel, love southeast Asia and the people and cultures (and food) SCUBA is a passion but more difficult as I get older so photography and writing have become most important. I have learned more talking with other travelers in local bars in Hong Kong or Bangkok or sharing a tuk tuk than I did in all my years in university. Not a man of the world but an average Joe just being observant, polite and listening.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Life, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

