SCRATCH ONE

My family rented small studio apartments to college students at what is now Arizona State University (ASU) in Tempe. We lived a block from the campus. One of our tenants was a young man named Jerry who had a good job and bought a brand new 1960 Corvette. He took me for a ride in it. I have wanted (but could never afford) a Corvette ever since.

One week ago and fifty-five years later, at the age of 70, my friend Dana sent me a Craigslist ad for a 1984 Corvette for sale in Ontario, California. A few phone calls and a little dickering and for less that 2 thousand dollars and a little trading material I am on the way to California in my jeep with Dana. (Thank you Dana). Seven hours later there she is!

corvette 1

Deal Completed – the test now is will she even make it the 350 miles home. Dana behind me in my jeep and the road ahead, off we go!

I can not explain adequately what it is like to fulfill a 55 year old dream. I am in love. This is an old car. It rattles a bit, the radio doesn’t work. It has an electro-luminescent panel which blinks on and off so the speedometer is functionally useless and most people would just laugh, but for me it is my Corvette. It hugs the road, it turns flat on a dime, and it accelerates quickly and smoothly when passing. In fact it runs very well. So what if it has 200,000 miles on it, I have much more on me and I am still capable of functioning 🙂 ! In fact I believe the car knows that she is once again appreciated. She seems eager to run and when I press the accelerator there is no hesitation, no roughness, just a surge of power. Like ‘the little engine that could’ she is showing me that as I love her she loves me back.

So I have not just scratched one item off my bucket list, I have stopped the slide. I have in one action careened off the course to the grave yard and reinstated my right to live and enjoy myself. Bad back, creaky knees and impossible hip make it a comedy when I crawl out of this car but it is a comedy in-which I can laugh at myself because it means I have been driving my 55 year old dream and it is worth so much more than the simple pain on exit. I am alive again. In actuality I have not removed an item from my bucket list, I have restarted my life. Whoopee!

About asiadiver

Love to travel, love southeast Asia and the people and cultures (and food) SCUBA is a passion but more difficult as I get older so photography and writing have become most important. I have learned more talking with other travelers in local bars in Hong Kong or Bangkok or sharing a tuk tuk than I did in all my years in university. Not a man of the world but an average Joe just being observant, polite and listening.
This entry was posted in Life, Old Age and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

