Stop the Slide

I did not think turning 70 mattered. I mean it matters that I beat the odds being a bush pilot, combat helicopter pilot, motorcycle rider and adventurer of sorts but I thought there would be no physical or psychological difference from the month before my 70th birthday to the month after. BUT, there must be something psychologically that I am allowing to creep in because I seem to have more aches and pains and I also seem to be more tired more often, and I am only one month in.

Earlier today I was in the ER getting IV’s and various drugs to fight an upper respiratory infection, and I got my flu shot and pneumonia shot and drink fluids. I am following the rules! RUBBISH. What is going on?

So the next few days will be spent sorting this out and setting myself on a new course. I do not intend for this to happen until my mid 80’s or mid 90’s like my friend Ken who at 96 walks for 30 minutes every day and is on more groups and committees than I can count.
I accept not being as strong or as fast or as quick witted but I AM NOT DEAD YET. What is the saying, “do not go gentle into that good night”, famously penned by Dylan Thomas?

I shall therefore plan another trip as the last one I planned and should have been on by now was submarined by a offer to purchase my house that went sour on the day after I should have been in the air. I think I may go to England in July to the WWII Commemorative air show since my father was in the RAF and I will go to Norwich where he was born and see if  my Grandparents are buried there, or spend a little extra time and find them if not. Maybe ride on the new Orient Express since my aunt rode on the original one. Maybe planning that will pump me up and in the mean time get a bunch of other stuff done. Rock on.

About asiadiver

Love to travel, love southeast Asia and the people and cultures (and food) SCUBA is a passion but more difficult as I get older so photography and writing have become most important. I have learned more talking with other travelers in local bars in Hong Kong or Bangkok or sharing a tuk tuk than I did in all my years in university. Not a man of the world but an average Joe just being observant, polite and listening.
This entry was posted in Life, Old Age, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stop the Slide

  1. Wow, reading your thoughts is inspiring. Like you said, rock on!

  2. Catmint32 says:

    Rock on! My grandfather lived to be 99, and he lived by himself (albeit with someone who visited him every day). My dad, who’s in his 80s, runs 1 hour on the treadmill every day. What is it that Yoda said? Do. Or do not. There is no try. P.S. I understand. It seems like if you’re following the “rules” you should be able to do whatever you want! 🙂

  3. asiadiver says:

    Thank You – reinforcement helps – seems like with blogging if I just do and don’t try to schedule it works better. I really appreciate your comment

Leave a Reply

