POP, BANG, POW – What Happened?

Broke my own rules again but it seems my life is a bit scrambled at the moment. First, delaying my trip and leaving Thursday –  it would be a little rainy on the way was a real goof. Half way between Wichita Falls and Amarillo the rain turned into snow and the farther I got the worse it got. Shortly after leaving Amarillo I noticed that I had no seen ANY trucks coming toward me on Interstate 40. Normally there would be one every couple of minutes. After 20 minutes of NO TRAFFIC coming at me I knew there was a real problem. Between Amarillo and the New Mexico line there were 5 semis and 3 cars off the road – many blocking it.

jan 2015 a

The thing behind the giant tow truck is a UPS semi on its side

jan 2015 c

and the mile of semis waiting for the sreck to be removed is why I hadn’t been seeing any traffic.

So my thousand mile drive took 17 hours because I got in one of those lines a few hundred miles down the road in New Mexico as a semi got salvage off my side of the freeway, to say nothing of many miles at 45 MPH instead of 75 MPH because of traffic going slow in the snow which was fine with me because even though I was in a Jeep with good snow tire and 4 wheel drive, when you hit a lippery spot you are on 4 skates no matter what you are driving.

So what happend to slow me down since then? well a couple of doctors appointments and, oh yes, I am selling my house so I can travel and I got an offer so I am looking for temporary quarters, packing and moving and like I said POW – What happened – my scrambled life happened, that’s what happened.

About asiadiver

Love to travel, love southeast Asia and the people and cultures (and food) SCUBA is a passion but more difficult as I get older so photography and writing have become most important. I have learned more talking with other travelers in local bars in Hong Kong or Bangkok or sharing a tuk tuk than I did in all my years in university. Not a man of the world but an average Joe just being observant, polite and listening.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

