First day of class “reintroduction”

Hi

My name is John. I live in the Mountains of Central Arizona in a town called Dewey outside of Prescott. I am an Arizona native but have lived in 22 states and three countries.

I love to travel and am traveling still. I wish to share my travels through my blog and on one of my last trips I did some blogging but got frustrated and also became disappointed because I was not consistent.  I will be seventy in February and I hope to convince, inspire, help people “of a certain age or time in life” that one need not sit in front of the TV and wait to die. To that end I will post some experiences and tips such as how to get cheaper flights without a lot of hassle and how to pack light.

On my last trip I spent two who days learning the Bangkok transportation system so on this trip I will use it from the airport to my hotel rather than having to take a taxi. I will be sharing some information like that. Also what an older person traveling alone needs to think about so as not to become a target of scammers, muggers, and things we didn’t think about when we were 25 years old.

I am proud and lucky to be an American but I have learned through my travels that there are lots of wonderful countries and the world in full of great people that wonderful to meet and talk to.

The biggest thing I hope to do is just keep my mind active and share some experiences and photos of great places.

About asiadiver

Love to travel, love southeast Asia and the people and cultures (and food) SCUBA is a passion but more difficult as I get older so photography and writing have become most important. I have learned more talking with other travelers in local bars in Hong Kong or Bangkok or sharing a tuk tuk than I did in all my years in university. Not a man of the world but an average Joe just being observant, polite and listening.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First day of class “reintroduction”

  1. gianluca8675 says:

    I really like your spirit! I wish you the best, meanwhile you got a new follower:)

  2. cllecr says:

    Hi John! I look forward to hearing about your travels! My blog is also a travel and photography focus…my husband and I travel in our RV, mostly in the US. Perhaps you will inspire me to plan the more ambitious trips on our list.

  3. Hello, fellow blogger! I am interested and inspired by your blog. You are so right about traveling now and not waiting. Three years ago, my husband and I moved to a new location for his “exit strategy” job. This meant that I retired a little early, and he took a position with more salary and more freedom to travel, which we did during his second year on the job. However, this summer he had some serious health problems which are going to limit our travel. He is still employed–now, to maintain our income and health insurance. I am keeping busy and keeping my fingers crossed that we can travel more as his health situation improves and he finally retires…Anyway, I second the notion: do not wait to do fun stuff!

  4. I am really looking forward to seeing your travels and tips!

Leave a Reply

